86 Comanche Project

I just picked up an 86 Comanche a few days ago. I intend to put a 5.9 Magnum in it or an LS one day. But for the time being, I'm tearing it apart to repair the rust it has. I'm new to Comanches so I'm going to need some help with this project. Any comments and suggestions are very welcome. Also, if I make any mistakes, let me know as I am new to this forum and restoring vehicles in general.

Here is what the truck looked like when I picked it up a couple days ago:

image.jpeg.485f379e5d0845bde1b3242ec4f2f769.jpeg

I need a tailgate (and maybe a bed) as you can see, so if you know where I can source one from, please let me know. I don't intend to waste time repairing this tailgate if I can get another one in decent shape.

IMG_2725.JPG.ac808ded8ca145a88dc932fa61f33433.JPG

The truck appears to have been in an accident or maybe it was used off-road. It has some dents all along the passenger side and some crappy touch up paint.

IMG_2727.JPG.93f48caf17c59654a7725cb36d63cfbe.JPG

I just took out the seats and carpet. The transmission tunnel is pretty rusty. Thankfully the cab corners look clean to me, but the floor pans.... not so much. Here's the rust I'm dealing with:

image.jpeg.f5f82426a332d9628d834fec39e4ccb4.jpeg

IMG_2748.JPG.a330bc9cdf9bf0ee084e9439c0768167.JPG

Where can I get this part above the rocker panel? Maybe cut it out of an XJ?

IMG_2745.JPG.bc249bf3007f5459d2423812e6b18de8.JPG

I plan on taking the bed off pretty soon so I can bedline it and save it from rust.

IMG_2728.JPG.4c52eb285935690d7f2f49edaef1bcd0.JPG

Any suggestions for what I should start with or what parts I should pick up sooner rather than later?

Thank you for your help in advance!

• datruford changed the title to 86 Comanche Project

Key Parts has bed wheel well patch panels, rocker panels, and bed floor panels on the website.

https://www.keypartsonline.com/comanche-mj/