71’ Chevelle SS454

I’ve been bugging my dad for several years to get this beauty out of the garage and start working on it together. It’s got tags dated from the early 90’s if that tells around how long it’s been parked. He was moving last year and called me out of the blue and said since I’ve been pretty persistent about wanting to get it going again and he never has time to work on it. How would I like to have it. I wasn’t going to say no. I will have to see if I can find the build sheet in one of the many interior hiding places the factory puts them, if it’s still their, to see if it is a true SS or a clone. I’ve been researching and have found that there are a few things that don’t belong on an SS. If it is a true SS and numbers are matching it will be a restoration project, if not then it will be a restomod project. Funny thing is my wife has always given me crap for having owned Chevy vehicles in the past, she’s a Ford girl, but when I sent her pictures of the Chevrolet and told her it was a Chevy she replied,”Well I like old cars.” She also doesn’t like driving standards. We will see if she changes her mind after I get it going again.

2E9DD959-C070-4E5F-BDDD-3328CD3B12A7.jpeg

582F3B92-B11C-449C-A8B9-A0D25370ED00.jpeg

49BC6285-8922-422B-9B05-C12F860BBEFE.jpeg

42706A7F-BE93-4520-AFD9-C46763F15E60.jpeg

439C9247-BEFC-4418-8007-456652B7DA4C.jpeg

9 hours ago, RustyRodder said:

Very nice!!! My dad and I have a 69 SS. 

Make sure you are checking your data to the right year- thats a 71 model, unless the grill/header/parking lights have been changed 

This and the wheels are not SS wheels is why I want to find the build sheet for sure. I’ve bought some literature for restoration purposes also.