Need help - 2000 XJ

I have one of the extremely rare 2000 XJs with a 4.0L engine and 5-speed. I believe mine is the only one in Connecticut, and I've been told it's one of only two in all of New England. I've had a problem since it was new, and it's getting aggravating enough that I'd like to fix it.

I've been driving standard transmissions for over 60 years, and I've always considered myself to be a "smooth" driver. I don't slam shifts, my clutches last forever, and my passengers don't complain that their heads are being snapped off at the neck by the way I drive. Except ... in the 2000 XJ. It's impossble to drive smoothly. Example:

Say I'm on a level road at 55 MPH. I come to a slight downgrade and speed increases, so I want o ease off the throttle just a bit to maintain 55 MPH. Can't do it. No matter how gently I try to ease up on the peddle, as soon as I start it's like the engine shuts off, the driveline lets out a loud clunk, and I'm slowing down. So now I need to apply juuuuust a little bit more throttle to get back up to 55 MPH. Nope -- same thing. No matter how gently I try to squeeze on the throttle, it comes in with a bang and a lurch. It's very annoying.

I had the dealership look at it a couple of times while it was under warranty and they couldn't find anything wrong, sio I've been living with it. But it's not right. I want to fix it.

I thought it might be the TPS, but the 2000 XJ FSM doesn't have any information about adjusting the TPS. They tell me how to replace it, but no mention of an adjustment. Does anyone know if it can be adjusted? If so, how?

I've never seen an TPS adjustment procedure for any of the HOs. And all the other sensors are the same p/n's regardless of the transmission. Except for the ECU. What's the p/n on your ECU tag? Looks like it should be either 56041667AD or 56041588AA for the standard transmission, federal emission - non-Cali cars. Maybe you have the wrong one in there...