1987 Chief - Clean 'n Simple

Hello all, I'm Mike aka grinch and I just brought home my 1987 Jeep Comanche Chief on 8/11/16. This is my first project vehicle, first Comanche, and first Jeep. To say that I'm new at this is an understatement.

About

1987 Jeep Comanche Chief

4.0 straight 6

4x4

AW4 auto trans

NP231

short bed

Dana 30 high pinion front

Dana 44 rear

3.73 gears.

Tires/suspension:

BFGoodrich 33x12.5R15 tires

Jegs D-Window 15X8 5X4.5 4" backspacing

Bilstein 5100 series shocks

Clayton control arms

Spring Over Axle (SOA) rear lift

Unknown brand front coil springs

Engine:

Mostly stock

Bosch 69302 fuel pump

Wix oil filter

Mobil 1 10w-30 full synthetic oil

Aftermarket short ram air intake

Misc:

LED lightbar

Purchased with 172k miles on the odometer

Backstory

I got the Jeep "bug" after purchasing a 2000 XJ for my wife. She's always loved Jeeps, her first vehicle was a ~94 Grand Cherokee, and her dream car was/is an XJ. I couldn't keep my hands off of it and she got mad at me for doing stuff to her Jeep without asking, so I decided to get my own to play with! Historically I've been more interested in Japanese sports cars (300zx, Supra, etc.) but have never ponied up and bought one, so this a departure from the norm.

I was attracted to the MJ because of its rarity. I've always been a fan of vehicles that you don't see every day. I liked the boxy look of the Cherokees but wanted something that you don't see every day. Even more rare is a clean, nicely maintained MJ...which brings me to...

Big Picture Plan