Wothless First Gear?

Hey y'all I was driving my Comanche for the first time since I bought it way back in March. I'm new to manuals and when I was driving around town today, it seemed as if by the time I got moving I was already needing to shift into second.  I was just wondering if this is because I am giving to much gas right off the bat or if thats normal or what? Also is it okay to start in second? Or is that a no-no? lol

'92 ax15 with 3.07 and 29's

-Zack

That's funny, I was just talking to my brother today about how worthless first gear is without a load. You can start in second, the 4.0 is more than capable of it, as long as your not on a hill. Honestly, I think first gear is really reserved for towing and heavy loads, just to get you going. 

I use first just to get moving off a stop during daily driving and have usually shifted to 2nd before I clear even a residential intersection. With a 2.5 my rig needs all the help it can get just to get out of its own way.

There will be those that will disagree with some of what I'm about say but that's OK.  The AX15's 1st gear ISN'T a granny gear.  It's there for a purpose, use it. Your clutch will last decidedly longer.  If you have a shift light on the dash, pull the bulb and throw it away!!! Even around town you shouldn't be shifting to the next gear until at least 3500rpm's.  That keeps the rpms at or above 2000 when you hit the next gear.  Don't be afraid to rev the 4.0!! It lives on rpms!  My '97 TJ has 196,000 miles on the original clutch and still works fine. I have put 90,000 miles on my '89 MJ since I got it and it still has the same clutch even after the engine rebuild.  Just my 2 cents worth.  :)