transfercase slipping ??

so the last time up in the mountains I'm hearing like a bang and it feels like i imagine what a chain slipping on a sprocket would feel like. - i can only imagine this to be transfer case issues. today, up a different mountain, the same thing but a bit more often and not consistent with any particular speed or amount of throttle (but definitely only on the steeper parts going up hill). so i think its the transfercase slipping (231) but am open to opinions. (this is in an '89 mj)

so my question is, i have a '95 parts cherokee that also has that transfercase. I'm no real mechanic. - much hassel to change-out? anything i should be on the lookout for? ive never done that before but think if its not too big a bite i wouldnt mind trying it. both the truck and donor xj are 5spds btw.

thanks.

what engine is the donor xj? if its a 4 cyl forget it, but if its a 6 you would be best to swap both the trans and t case. and iirc the t case off that xj is a different spline input than the pukegoat trans. 23 and 21 or something like that.

edit: if this is even your problem.

It all depends what trans youve got in the MJ, if its an AX-15 youre golden, just swap t cases, itll be pretty simple/easy, if you don't then its a good time to swap in an AX

tomorrow i will probably be on here asking how i can tell what i have in the mj for a tranny, and the xj, for that matter.

both are 4.0 btw. '89mj, '95xj. both 5spds.

look in the DIY section for the thread about the difference between the ba10/5 and the ax15.

if you have a ba10/5, you need a t-case with 21 splines, with the proper length input. if you have an ax15, you need a 23 spline t-case with proper length input.