help again please (CHEVY LOVE/HATE RELATIONSHIP)

sinnaevd

alritey, i'm suppose to be putting a 3/4 ton frame under my chev truck, but have a plethora (SP?) of choice for tranny tcase combo's. what would you knowledable fellows think??

Choices are:

400 turbo w/203

350 turbo w/203

700r4w/208

350turbow/205

400 turbo w/208

what would you go with? why?

i was thinking the 700r4w with the 208, but i'm unsure...

help please

need to stay auto for the Mrs.

She needs to be able to trailw ith somethign once I get back into my Manche

I knew I wanted the 700, but I have no idea what the differences are between the tcases in a chev ( i am just new to chevs so i'm till learning)

400 turbo w/203

350 turbo w/203

700r4w/208

350turbow/205

400 turbo w/208

The th400 is the strongest tranny out of the 3. Bulletproof. Mmm, that's nice.

The th350 is pretty hardy, but not like the th400, and the 700r4 is nice for highway driving because of the overdrive, but isn't as strong.

The NP203 t-case is a full-time 4wd case.

The NP205 is a bullet proof t-case and is gear-driven.

The NP208 is an okay case, but is chain-driven.

I'd recommend the TH350-NP205 or the TH400-NP208, for strength reasons mostly.

BTW:

My '85 GMC is a TH400 (beefed up a bit) with a NP208. I liked the combo alot, and with the torque of the modded 350, it went anywhere I told it to without ever breaking.

My brother's '76 Chevy is a TH350 (beefed up) with a NP203 (changed to part time 4wd so it has a 2-LO option as well :D ). The tranny couldn't handle his driving, and is in piss poor shape now, leaking from everywhere. It's not a bad tranny, just couldn't handle him.

the 700 would be nice for what i'm looking for then i think. it will see some offroading like sand dunes and a little mud and what not but I can't see myself doign anything major to it. I will try to get the 700 with the 205, on another website they said the same thing.