what gears would it have??

howdy all. i am a newb on here and a have a question about a comanche (my first one jamminz.gif ) that i am buying... it is a 2.5L, 4 speed manual, 4x4 long box, i think it is a 1989 or 1990 but i'm not sure (neither is the current owner :???: ). what gears were available with this configuration, or what would it most likely have for an axle ratio??

i am waiting, patiently :wall: , for the current owner to get back in town so i can go get the truck. but until then all i can do is surf the web and get ideas.

later

-ricky

My 2.5 came with a 4 speed and 3.55.

I put the 5 speed tranny from a 93 XJ in it and the 4.10 D30/8.25 will be going in it in spring.

3.55 with 4 speed (4th 1:1) final drive is 3.55

4.10 with 5 speed (5th 0.85:1) final drive is 3.49

The AX-4 and AX-5 are identical with the exception of the AX-5 having the fith gear. (I know this, having put the fifth gear from an AX-5 into an AX-4 to make it a 5 speed.)

1st 3.93:1

2nd 2.33:1

3rd 1.45:1

4th 1:1

5th 0.85:1

R 4.74:1

The AX-4 and AX-5 are identical with the exception of the AX-5 having the fith gear. (I know this, having put the fifth gear from an AX-5 into an AX-4 to make it a 5 speed.)

Ahah!

You have actually done this? I have always maintained that it's possible, but the shop foreman at my dealership swears it can't be done so I never pursued it. Thank you, thank you! How hard a job was it to accomplish?

Ahah!

You have actually done this? I have always maintained that it's possible, but the shop foreman at my dealership swears it can't be done so I never pursued it. Thank you, thank you! How hard a job was it to accomplish?

I had a thread on it awhile ago but it never quite got finished(the thread)