Temp light comes on and off

Hey everyone, newbie here. I bought my first Comanche 2 weeks ago from a local dealership. 1986, 4x2, base model, v6 automatic in red. It's the 4th truck I've owned and already my favorite by far. However yesterday started something really weird and I'm stumped. 

While taking my daughter to school the temp light came on for about 30 seconds and then went out for about 10 seconds. It continued this until I got it home. 4 hours later I started her up and saw the light was off, so I drove it to work - approx 10 miles away. Halfway through the trip it started doing it again, all the way to work. I popped the hood and the rad cap was steaming and the reservoir was empty (which was weird because I distinctly remember it being full 2 weeks ago at the dealership). I figured I had a leak and asked my wife to bring me some antifreeze.  A little before leaving work I filled it up with the antifreeze and the same thing happened at about the same amount of time.

Today I was using it around the property and she was fine - multiple starts and stops, multiple trips from one end of the property to the other with no prob. When I was done I drove it to the gas station 1 mile down the road and the darn thing started doing it again. 

It's not a fluid issue - the reservoir is still full and there were no signs of leaking in the driveway. 

Anyone know what it could be? Thanks in advance.

- Will

IMG_20230307_114936142_HDR.jpg

IMG_20230307_114924112_HDR.jpg

Gotcha. Do you think it's ok to drive until I get it fixed this weekend? If it's just a sensor I wouldn't think that would mess with the engine. She's running just fine...

4 minutes ago, eaglescout526 said:

I bet you anything it might have the gauge sensor instead of the one for the light. 

What do you mean?