Checkin In Finally

BustedKnuckleJK

Hey everyone, lurked for quite awhile, finally got some time to register!

Name is Patrick, livin' in the tropical paradise that is Southwest Florida.

Longtime Jeeper, specifically XJs, had five so far [so far.. as in there's a 50/50 shot of the wife filing divorce if I drag another one home]. Had a handful of WJ's and ZJ's, and the garage currently consists of my JKU, the wife's Patriot, and a pile of a CJ-2A that I've been lugging around for 2 years without actually working on, lol.

The JK has outgrown daily driver duty at this point, with 37"s and 4.88 gears, Yukon lockers, it's not exactly economical. So I needed a new daily. And it came from an unlikely source. A customer of mine [I run an automotive shop] made a comment one evening about the trailer on my JK. I explained what I was doing [moving the CJ to my new house]. He said he needs to "Get that ole' Jeep outta my yard." I'm like dude, I've known you for 8 years, you never said you had a Jeep just laying around. He goes on to tell me it's a Comanche. I corrected him naturally, telling him he meant Cherokee, the little boxy SUV, because of course, there's no way on earth he's hidden an MJ from me all these years. "Nope, the little pickup truck. Ran great. Clutch gave out in 99' so I parked it in the field."

Mind you, I was already going to make an offer on what I thought was an XJ, but now he confirms that there's basically a unicorn at his house. MJ's for me were always the holy grail of Jeeps. My wife laughs at me for giggling like a kid when I see one at an event. So, sight unseen, with no info on it, I ask. "How much?" He laughs hard, "If you can get to it, it's yours. I haven't been back in that field for a few years. If it's still there, I know I have keys and a title for it."