Newbie lookin to upgrade

Hi, newbie here looking for some advice on upgrading my Ba-10/rwd to a anything else/4wd. This is my first truck and first jeep and being an amatuer mechanic i'm unsure on the price vs. worth when buying parts. I'm thinking about picking up a parts/project comanche for around $1500 because it's a '89 4wd longbed with what looks to be a stock d44/d30 setup, havent seen it in person yet only a few pics(bit of a drive and i'm going to need to rent a trailer) so i'm just hoping it has the MT leafs and an ax-15 or aw-4("it's automatic" was all i got). You guys think the actual MJ parts are worth it or should i just be picking up a donor xj for half the $ or less and making the parts work?

Also, it has a non-running 4.0L and not sure how bad the rust is.

Using an MJ as a parts donor will mean one less MJ on the road. That's really what it comes down to. The only real advantage to using an MJ as a donor is you're more likely to get a rear driveshaft in the correct length, but generally a custom driveshaft won't set you back the difference in price vs a rotted out XJ.

Although you will get a whole whack of spare MJ-specific parts with an MJ as a donor, so maybe if you have space to keep them around that might pay for itself... eventually, maybe. 

If the parts MJ is too far gone to bring back, I say part it and build yours with it. The MJ parts truck will make the swap a bolt in affair with the D44.  I assume you can not weld/fit, so I would suggest you go the MJ route if it does have a D44 in the rear.  

Quick math -