Project: Rescued Comanche.

Hey all, happy to join the fellow Jeep owners here! My driver has been an 86 4x4 s10 with the iron duke and while its been a good little truck (motor is SOLID, rest of truck not so much) the front end is wearing out and my heart isn't really with this one. I had been eyeballing Comanche's even before I got the s10 but the s10 sort of fell into my lap for $500 bucks and some minor repairs and I have been running it for almost 3 years.

Anyways fast forward to a week ago, I go with my dad to the local Auto recycler/pick n pull hes searching for a new wiper motor for his 89 XJ. As I walk into the yard entrance there it is a COMANCHE just seemed to be calling my name. After some stewing about I manned up and pulled the trigger and ended up driving it home!

I will need to have have it VIN inspected once I get a few bugs worked out on it because for whatever reason it was sold as salvage or destroyed on the title. 

For the life of me I can't figure out why the previous owner sold it to this place I think possibly he was just in need of cash very quickly, it had a for sale sign behind the back seats so obviously he hadn't had any luck (I may even give him a ring to chat about some things with the truck!).

Well she's a 87 Comanche Laredo, long bed, 4x4, 4.0, 5 speed, Brown in color with 178k on the clock and appears to be all stock, the only damage is a crunched corner of the rear bumper which didnt even hurt the body and a decent ding in the top of the tailgate which I think I will be able to cover with one of those stainless tailgate protector caps. Other then those 2 things the paint and body on the truck is basically spotless.

Current list of issues or fixes I did already:

1. Replaced alternator and got a new battery - I barely made it home on a battery the yard gave me!

2. Replaced thermostat and gasket - was leaking from gasket