Finally A Job!

Sir Sam

I graduated engineering school about 2.5 years ago now(ME), been flipping Jeeps and doing some other Jeep related work(diesel KJ work, etc).

Back in august or so I applied for a job with company here in town, I didn't even expect to hear back on the position, and really didn't put much effort in to applying.

To my surprise I heard back for a phone interview, then I heard back for an in person interview, then I heard back for a job offer, I accepted back in dec and started January 2nd.

Comes with great benefits health insurance wise, 401k matching up to 4.5% on 6%, 2 years in I'm vested and start getting a stock contribution(we are a publicly traded company).

The job I'm doing is a "Field service engineer", basically I perform field service work on a bunch of different industrial turbine systems, so if there is a warranty issue or more commonly a repair needed I go onsite to perform the work.

The cool things about the job are; I can make 50%-100% of my base pay in my travel premiums, eg if my base pay was 100k(it isn't, I'm just making the numbers easy for my example) I could make 150-200k a year. I'm salary when I'm in the office, but the second I go on travel I'm hourly, anything over 40 hours a week I get the typical time and a half pay, plus a premium depending on where I'm traveling, international is 20% premium, offshore 10%, and travel advisory times are an extra 5%. So I get compensated for the travel pretty well, I could make up to 30% depending on where I am traveling.

The downside is that I will be traveling about 60-80% of the time, the upside to so much travel is the extra pay.

I could be traveling anywhere from the north sea on an offshore oil platform, to the carribean to work on a cruise ship(one of the best jobs you can get, even better if they want you to stay on board for testing during at sea), to china to work commissioning on a power plant for 6 weeks, to basically anywhere.