1990 Minnesota MJ Project: Preservation....

Hey Folks,

So, I'm new to MJ's, and new to the forum. I recently picked up this 1990 MJ 2wd 4 speed manual. As you can imagine, it is extremely difficult to find a rust free late model vehicle of ANY type here in MN. I drove an hour outside of Mpls to see this truck. Previous owner was 17 and getting ready to head off to college. He did all the mechanicals himself:

New clutch

New rear main seal

New valve cover and gasket

New VC "breather" (don't know the tech term) and hose

New exhaust front to back

New tires!!!

The 4 cyl. has 140,000 miles on it and runs like a top! My main objective over the coming winter is strictly to keep the current rust in check, and try to minimize the spreading till next spring, when at tax time I hope to have it repainted. I found a friend who is going to help weld in new drivers side floor pan, new rocker panels, and new cab corners before winter sets in, then hopefully next year I can get the box repairs done.

I started by spending a couple days with the die grinder, an orbital sander, and a hand scraper, grinding and sanding as much of the blistered paint away, and rust bubbles that I could get off of it, then giving it 3 coats of rust inhibitor, then primer and then pre-mixed "colorado red" The premixed color is not quite right, but close enough from 5 feet away, and will keep the neighbors happy not seeing so much rust. Aside from the usual rust areas, the truck is pretty solid. I plan to make this the Daily Driver. I'll warn everyone, this mild resto will be VERY SLOW. I hear you folks like photos....here is a few.

My buddy the die grinder:

Drivers side:

Passenger side:

Tailgate:

IF anyone has any tips on how to handle the tailgate rust (bottom edge is rusting from the inside out) I cleaned and treated both sides of the rotted area, but ther are already holes that are pretty bad on the bottom edge. Meanwhile waiting on repair panels to arrive. All for now.

-E.