Codename: Commander Chief

Well, I had a somewhat build page that I posted a ton of questions in, a long time ago in the Tech section, so now its time for a real build page!

About me:

My name is Nate. I am from Central MN, and I am an off-road addict. I am currently a student at Alexandria Technical College for Diesel Mechanics. When I'm not in school, I work at Mills Fleet Farm, and I also work for Ziegler Caterpillar as a Power Generation Mechanic. I bought my Comanche in August of 2010 to use as a project vehicle during school, and to turn into my first 4x4 off-roader :D.

The Plan: Build for trail rides, with plenty of Mud capability, and ability to cross corn fields with ease.

4-6" of total lift

Upgraded rear axle (dana44, chrysler 8.25, ford 8.8)

Locker for the Rear axle

Would like to fit 33"s comfortably

Install Floors

Bucket Seats

2 speed transfer case

Get all vital electronics functioning again (headlights, taillights, blinkers, windshield wipers, defrosters)

Removable doors

Get radio to work!

Overall daily driver-ability (I have pretty low standards)

If I can make it look like this, I will be the happiest man on earth...

On to the Comanche!

My Comanche is a 1986 long wheel base 4x4 model, it has a 2.8L GM V6 engine, a 5 Speed (AX-15, I do believe), Dana 30 up front, Dana 35 out back, and 4.10 gears. It also has a single speed NP207 transfer case. It used to look like this!

This picture does it a TON of justice. It looked like complete crap in real life.

Now the Minnesotan Redneck within me convinced me to do this!

Typical floor rust..... :(

I felt a little creative one day, and decided to make my own light bar. 5$ and a short trip to the junkyard later, I drove home with a 95 ford explorer sport rack, modified it with my good ol' friend Dr. Dremel and made it look like this!