?'s about Cooling System Swap

Most of my questions are pretty simple stuff, but like I said before I'm not a mechanic nor do I claim to be one, however I do enjoy upgrading my own stuff (89 MJ) with the help of the comanche club of course :clapping: . So my question is: 1. What all is involved in switching cooling systems to where I don't have the old pressurized system? 2. How do I do it? 3. Is it a difficult swap? 4. How much does it cost? Thanks all help is greatly appreciated.

The "old" radiator and the "new" radiator are exactly the same size and both operate at the same (or nearly the same) pressure. I am constantly mystified by the number of people who seem to think changing to the new style ("open") cooling system is in any way an up-grade.

I just considered it an upgrade because it was newer. All I was thinking of doing was replacing the old cooling system with a newer one. One that you actually put coolant in the radiator with out the pressurised bottle. Yes I know they operate at the same pressure.

Instead of using an "open" radiator, I spliced the water inlet from a 99 durango 4.7 into the upper rad hose. Still swapped over the newer heater valve. System works great, no temp issues, but if I were to do it again id consider swapping radiators.

Instead of using an "open" radiator, I spliced the water inlet from a 99 durango 4.7 into the upper rad hose. Still swapped over the newer heater valve. System works great, no temp issues, but if I were to do it again id consider swapping radiators.

I pretty much did the same, although I got rid of the heater valve entirely - haven't had any problems with the heat or A/C yet. Got an overflow bottle from AutoZone:

So basically all I have to do is get a radiator (that you put the coolant directly into) and swap them out. That's it? Thanks

No, that's not all you have to do.