New Member, New Comanche

Hey y'all,

I've been lurking for a few weeks, as I picked up a 1989 Comanche recently. It has 122,500 miles, 2wd 4.0/5-Speed (I think it's the Frenchie, but I'm not sure). It ran all right when I bought it, and better now with a new fuel filter/plugs/wires. I'm totally new to the Jeep scene, and relatively new to wrenching beyond oil changes, so bear with me.

1) It has an oil leak. I'm not sure where, but most of the underside is pretty well coated and grimy, and I've gone down about a quart in two weeks/400 miles of driving. Are there any particularly notorious trouble spots I should check out?

2) Gas gauge is stuck. I don't know if it matters as far as diagnosis, but I have the full gauges (tachometer/oil pressure/etc)

3) What should oil pressure be? It reads above 40 at startup, but can get down near 20 during driving.

4) I get a hiccup in acceleration around 1800-2200 RPM. It just seems to bog down, and then gets going again if I keep my foot down.

5) Above 2600 RPM, it starts sounding a bit like a diesel. I have no idea if this is normal - family cars have been mostly Hondas.

6) Any other advice/tips?

Thanks for any wisdom you can throw at me. I've been meaning to pull up the carpets and see how the floors are - that's on the list for this weekend. I live in Arizona, so I'm optimistic.

Welcome to the Club!! :cheers: I'll leave the answers to your questions to the guys who know alot more than I. If you've been following the site you know you'll get plenty of help. Good luck with the truck and try to add some pics and your location on your next post. :thumbsup:

Hey y'all,

I've been lurking for a few weeks, as I picked up a 1989 Comanche recently. It has 122,500 miles, 2wd 4.0/5-Speed (I think it's the Frenchie, but I'm not sure). It ran all right when I bought it, and better now with a new fuel filter/plugs/wires. I'm totally new to the Jeep scene, and relatively new to wrenching beyond oil changes, so bear with me.