Stroker Project 1989

I dream to update my 1989 4.0l, experiencing oil in the water.

I am not a mechanic, but I dig my way around.

I am thinking to do " A poor Man Stroker 4.5l.

Need advise from the wises. :bowdown:

Anybody have an experience or suggestion ?

The siren song on the mythical "budget stroker" is OOOOOHHHH so tempting. I followed the maiden for several years, doing research, doing more research, talking to people who had built strokers, talking to people who had BOUGHT strokers, and then doing more research, then crunching the numbers ...

The "budget stroker" is a myth. IMHO it involves too many compromises to be a cost-effective substitute for a good rebuild. You either have too much compression, or you don't have enough. One of the solutions for the compression issue is to buy a non-stock cam with a lot of overlap, to bleed off excess compression pressure. I finally saw the light -- unless you're prepared to buy special, custom pistons to get the compression ratio correct, I think you're better off to build the engine stock, with a .030 overbore and new pistons, and then put a mild RV cam in it for more torque.

Or buy a 4.2L engine, rebuild that, and throw the 4.0L head and injection on it.

I think you're better off to build the engine stock, with a .030 overbore and new pistons, and then put a mild RV cam in it for more torque.

I've been thinking more along these lines. Oh sure, someday a 5.0L stroker would be nice with mabye a turbo or supercharger 8) . But I would like to see what could be done with a little more stock platform first. Some head work and bolt on's to get more air/fuel flowing through the pump.Just between cam, rockers , and valves there's alot that could be done.

IMO going to 5.0 is not a good idea. Some blocks may not even be able to do it, as with that much boring you have to have the block checked to make sure you have enough wall thickness between the cylinders.

4.7 is as big as I would go.