Replacing Engine

OK, I have decided that I need to go ahead and replace the engine in my 87 MJ. It has the 4.0 in it now and I plan to go back with another 4.0.

I need to do this now because my other truck (01 Dodge Ram 1500) now has a blown motor. Seeing as this is my only other mode of transportation (a side from my wife's Suburban), I need to get the oil leak stopped and the number 2 cylinder repaired.

My plan is to find a motor from a salvage yard or similar venue. I basically just plan on bolting it straight up and not going through it. I will take my current engine and go through it for a total rebuild.

I am not a mechanic, so I am asking y'all what you would do to the new engine before it goes in? I know the standard fluid change and spark plug change, but what else would you do to it before you bolted it in.

Keep in mind that I am only looking to use the new engine until I get my Dodge motor replaced and my old 4.0 rebuilt. All I need is a reliable running engine that I don't have to put a quart of oil in every other day and will last me about 6 months or so.

I am hoping that I can perform the motor swap in just a weekend.

Thanks in advance

**EDIT**

What all year model engines will directly bolt in my Jeep? I think I heard 86 - 91 4.0, but I am not positive. What all models can I pull from? MJ, XJ, etc...

where is the oil leaking from? rear main seal?

Pretty much all over....It is really so bad, it is hard to tell where the leak is coming from.

I'll post a pic of the front diff and you will see how bad it is.

Wouldn't let me post the pic, but you can follow this link and see the pic:

http://www.comancheclub.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=19145

Unfortunately, the oil leak is only one of the problems.

I have a bad ring on the number 2 piston. It keeps fouling out spark plugs. I finally just bought one of those No-Foul adapters and it has worked fine for a month or two now.

It also has a hole in the manifold as well.