Rust bucket or diamond in the rough? '89 Pioneer

First time MJ owner, glad to find this site. Lots of great info! I have some experience with XJ's. I had a '92 with a couple inches of lift.

Enough with the past. . The MJ has 70,000 original miles (not sure I believe that) and looks like 470,000. Wisconsin winters are wicked on metal.

HVAC system is filled with sound dampening material and there is mice poop everywhere.

I quickly pulled up the floor. So far I only pulled the carpet in front of the seats (PO has stripped 3 out of 4 beat seat bolt and 2 seat belt bolts! :doh: )

Here is the driver's side. As you can see the rust is bad. You might be able to tell the tires are bald from this same pic. . lol

To my surprise IIRC (been a while since the XJ) this is a good 'ole D44

Now I am looking into restoration. I have given the frame a quick once over. It is rusty but seems to be all surface. I didn't see any holes. The floors need to be further investigated. The bed needs some serious work. The driver's side leaf spring shackle is busted (drove 75 miles home on that!). The brake lines look like they are going to turn to dust with a strong wind. I am planning on grabbing some replacement front and rear cab panels (driver side and passenger side) and rocker panels from RockAuto.com. Prices seem to be pretty reasonable. Hopefully at the same time I can swap a clean '97+ front end on. I hope to get the body looking good before tackling any new goodies (bumpers, tires, winch .. )

I plan on using the Jeep as a DD in about one year. Hopefully everything will be set by then. Big plans, we will see how it turns out. Any advice would be great.

What kind of sealer (brushable) do you use on floor pan replacement?

Time for me to start dumping into the money pit!