Muffler Toast but now more power!

Well my OEM muffler started rattling and then started to sound like a duck farting in water. Not a big deal I ordered a Walker OEM replacement 21385 for the 91-92 4.0. In all this fun though I noticed a fairly large power increase with the busted muffler. The RPM's go up must faster, better throttle response. When the muffler was quiet I had to apply a lot more throttle to get the RPM's to move up, I guess my question is when I put the OEM Walker back in will I lose power? :dunce:

if the old one was plugged the new one will perform better but probably no as well as no muffler. if you want to keep your new found power you might look into a performance muffler,OEMs are designed to be quiet and not some much for power.

i have a flowmaster on my MJ (2.5L TBI 4spd) with no CAT and i can outrun my brothers 95YJ (2.5L MPFI 5spd) with stock exhaust.

age is just a number,your never to old for loud exhaust :cheers: my rascal scooters gonna have wheelie bars and nitrous jamminz.gif

really if done right a performance exhaust can have a nice sound to it without sounding obnoxious.

try to do a longer glasspack it will have the benifit of straight flowthrough design but when your at WOT it will be quiet i had a 36" long cherry bomb and my jeep sounded great at a stop or just driving but i like the sound the best when you drop the hammer down.

try to do a longer glasspack it will have the benifit of straight flowthrough design but when your at WOT it will be quiet i had a 36" long cherry bomb and my jeep sounded great at a stop or just driving but i like the sound the best when you drop the hammer down.

:agree: :agree: :agree: :agree: