AX15 conversion

I know that I have plenty to learn. I was looking at some pics of Comanches on a Car Domine page and saw a comment about converting an internal slaved AX15 to an external slaved one. I would like to read what is involved in this conversion to see if it is feasible for me. Any sources that you can point me to would be greatly appreciated.

Blue

You'll need:

External slave bellhousing (any 94+ bell should be external)

Bearing retainer

Throwout arm

Throwout bearing

External slave

Different clutch line(I went from an internal AX-4 to an external AX-5 and used the clutch line from my 88 4.0 BA 10/5)

I'm not 100% sure, but I think the pressure plate may be different.

Hardest part is getting a new clutch line in there. Everything else is a direct swap.

I have an 89 2WD Peugot BA10/5 that I was told was working but the throwout bearing donut went out. I have no first hand knowledge of it being alright. I am replacing it with an AX15 with an external slave

Is there already an internal slave AX-15 in the truck, or are you going from a BA 10/5 to an AX-15 at the same time?

When changing the clutch line I'd recomend just swapping the whole clutch setup. I changed everything but the pedal on mine: Clutch master cylinder/hard plastic line/external slave/etc the whole works. Only reason I recomend it is (at least on mine ('88 4.0)) the BA-10's line screws into the master cylinder and slave but the internal newer style has plastic ends that are held in place with a little pin. I tried ti adapt the lines but that didn't work, and after spending extra money that I didn't have trying to make it work I went to a j/y and pulled the whole thing and it went right in in like 15mins and I haven't had a problem with it since.