Brake booster upgrade

I have seen a few articles on this, but i ran across this thread, and this seem to be the best and easiest upgrade. I got my master cylinder and booster from Rock Auto, about $150 for both. you will also need some adapters and some brake lines. Figure on spending about $200.00 Well worth it. for our MJ's go with a 94-95 booster and matching master cylinder. Everything will line up, you will have to drill out the hole in the booster rod to 9/16 or buy an aluminum spacer at the hardware store that has a 3/8 ID and 1/2 od.

http://www.cherokeeforum.com/showthread.php?t=3352

I have this upgrade, along with rear discs from a 96 C/V, and the D44 out of my old XJ. It is SO nice to be able to not only slow down, but actually STOP in a hurry if I need to. A very worthwhile swap, I feel.

I have this upgrade, along with rear discs from a 96 C/V, and the D44 out of my old XJ. It is SO nice to be able to not only slow down, but actually STOP in a hurry if I need to. A very worthwhile swap, I feel.

What is C/V? Crown Victoria? Got a D44 in my truck, how hard to install those discs?

I have the WJ booster and master with Explorer rear discs. And it does make a huge difference.

No mods were needed on the booster rod to fit on my 92. They used two different setups. Mine was the same as later XJs with the newfangled retaining clip.

No mods were needed on the booster rod to fit on my 92. They used two different setups. Mine was the same as later XJs with the newfangled retaining clip.

Likewise for me on my 91 using the 96 XJ booster, master, and Explorer disks. I did use the alum spacer. Super upgrade.

I did a little more research, the newer booster needs a 1/4" spacer between the firewall and the booster for the brake pedal to be the correct height. You can get them from a later XJ in the boneyard or make one yourself.

here's a CAD drawing...

What is C/V? Crown Victoria? Got a D44 in my truck, how hard to install those discs?