My first MJ

JeffK

New member, like to take a moment to say hello to everyone. I'm a longtime Cherokee owner, but I'm brand new to the Comanches. I've been looking on and off for several months and just yesterday I finally found one. It's a 1988 Pioneer, SWB 4X4. 4.0L I6, AX-15 5-speed, NP 231 t-case, Dana 30/35. The paints faded and the interior is a little rough, but I think it's a worthwhile project.

Yesterday afternoon:

I've pretty stoked about it (even if my wife's not). :shake:

She looks nice and clean. :thumbsup:

You sure it's got an AX-15? 88s came from the factory with a BA 10/5.

I'm quoting the previous owner. I'm familiar with everything except the manual trans, all my XJs were auto. How do you tell the difference?

I'm quoting the previous owner. I'm familiar with everything except the manual trans, all my XJs were auto. How do you tell the difference?

The Peugeot case splits in half with a left and right side and so you'll see a seam of bolt running along the top and bottom. The AX-15 splits into a front and rear half and has a big rign of metal joining them together.

Peugeot on the right:

Looks like a Peugeot to me. Is that good or bad?

Most folks say the Peugeot is pretty bad. My 1st XJ (I bought it new in 1988) had one though & I never had any problems in the 180,000+ miles I had it. Of course I do know how to shift........... :rotf:

Most folks say the Peugeot is pretty bad. My 1st XJ (I bought it new in 1988) had one though & I never had any problems in the 180,000+ miles I had it. Of course I do know how to shift........... :rotf:

Yeah I do too, but did the previous 2 owners? :???: