New Guy Here - Is the 2.8 V6 that bad?

Hey Guys and Gals.

My name is James, I just signed up for the forum, looks like a lot of good information here.

I just bought an '86 Comanche 4wd with the 2.8 liter V6 with a 5 speed transmission. I have very little experience with Jeeps in general - or 4wds for that matter - but I have been wrenching on cars for nearly 20 years.

From the various things I read before going to look at the truck, it seems like most people have a generally unfavorable view of the 2.8 liter V6 model Comanches, but I couldn't really find much information on what's bad about the V6 other than Wikipedia mentions it has bad fuel economy.

I don't have plans to make a trail rig or anything like that (although I do think that stuff is really cool), I mostly just need a truck for hauling stuff around and the Comanche seems like it's just-right sized and this one was cheap for a good, solid runner.

So, what's wrong with the V6 and can anything be done to make it better? If it's just that it doesn't have any more power than the 4 cylinder but drinks more gas, is it possible to improve either of those issues with a different carburetor or maybe a fuel injection swap from one of the plethora of other vehicles that use the GM 60degree V6?

Anything else I should know about the truck, anything else to look at upgrading or replacing? Did I make a mistake buying it?

I won't have the truck in my posession until Monday, it might not be too late to back out...

Thanks for reading and any information would be apreciated.

BTW. I tried to search for information on the V6, but "v6", "2.8", "GM", are all too short to work in the search field so if I missed a good thread and am beating a dead horse, I apologize in advance.

Just wanted to say welcome to the Club... :cheers: