Metal brake lines

so, I was looking at my brake system to see why I don't have any hydraulic pressure, and I found the leak, the metal brake line going to the left rear wheel has rusted out, and needs to be replaced. The haynes manual has some general information, but nothing specefic. As I've never done this job before, I'd appreciate any tips you guys have. In addition, I need to know how long to expect this job to take, IE weekend job or something I can do after work during the week.

Here's about the best write up on this subject.

If you found one broken line now.......you'll find more latter, so......replace all the hard lines now, and even the soft line (from the body to the axle) and save your self some grief latter on.

Agreed. And eliminate the rear height-sensing proportioning valve while you're doing it. Getting rid of that means about three things less to fail.

Here's about the best write up on this subject.

If you found one broken line now.......you'll find more latter, so......replace all the hard lines now, and even the soft line (from the body to the axle) and save your self some grief latter on.

Agreed. And eliminate the rear height-sensing proportioning valve while you're doing it. Getting rid of that means about three things less to fail.

I'm learning about these brake proportioning valves in class. and other than the amount of things that may or may not go wrong. i am curious why people are always complaing about them? i know how much fun brake lines are and all. but if your going to do something then why not do it all and do it the right way? not saying that taking it off is bad as it does make the system more simple. I'm just curious why yall always say take em off.

Reasons to remove the rear proportioning valve: