GM 173 V6 swap for AMC 258 I6

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Search for 2.8 to 4.0L swap... You'll find a bunch.

I'm no expert on the subject, but you can't use the same transmission. And you'll need a 4.0L wiring harness. Along with the radiator, rad support and some other doo-hickies.

well i see that i will more than likely have to pound in the firewall.

There's a couple other things to consider...

Since they didn't put the 4.0 into the 86's, the firewall is different, and if yours is an earlier 86, you may have to modify your firewall.

No, you won't be able to use your tranny, you'll need either an Ax-15, Ba 10/5, or Aw4.

Yes, you'll need to replace the entire harness, engine bay and dash. New motor mounts, new exhaust.

There's a couple other things to consider...

Since they didn't put the 4.0 into the 86's, the firewall is different, and if yours is an earlier 86, you may have to modify your firewall.

No, you won't be able to use your tranny, you'll need either an Ax-15, Ba 10/5, or Aw4.

Yes, you'll need to replace the entire harness, engine bay and dash. New motor mounts, new exhaust.

how do you tell if it's an earlier 86' model?

One last thing to consider, he's not asking about the 4.0, but a 258 and there's no way that I would trade one turd for another in any of my trucks. The 3.4L (from an early 90s Camaro or Firebird) swap is waaaay easier for the 86 trucks with the 2.8L and if you're up to the challenge, you can swap over the electronics and get the Camaro's fuel injection too. :D

I could have sworn I saw another post in here saying he meant the 4.0 instead of the 4.2...

Well, yeah, a GM v6 would be a lot easier, Especially since you should be able to keep your tranny.

If you decide not to use the 258(if you have one), I wouldn't mind snagging the Crankshaft. :brows:

the firewall changed to the 4.0 firewall in late 86