"97 Swap Fuel Pump Question

I'm still trying to decide what I want to do with my fuel system on the '97 swap. I've seen where others have used adapter rings for the XJ pump on the comanche tank or have swapped in other tanks completely. Someone suggested to me that I just run an electric fuel pump and just cut power to the existing pump. Please excuse my ignorance (I've not messed with any of this fuel stuff before), but does this sound like a viable option?

I'm planning on buying a fuel tank for my short bed without the pan inside so I can run a cherokee fuel pump in it so the dash gauge will read correctly. Some have said that the gauge will move around some but if you don't let it get below 1/4 tank it shouldn't be to bad.

Is this a slosh pan or something? How does the removal of the panel cause the gauge to move around?

If its a stock Comanche tank, how do you plan on adapting the Cherokee pump?

I'm really new at this and just trying to figure it all out. Thanks for the help.

This is one area I am not 100% which direction I want to go.

1) Follow Woodkrawlers way on JF

Besides using a custom fuel cell set up, the only idea I can come up with is to use a pump adapter ring like this:

http://copperheadfab.com/index.php?acti ... ductid=203

I "think" I will be able to block off the original hole on the MJ tank and cut a new hole in the top of the MJ tank to mount this adapter ring. Based off my measurements the XJ fuel pump/sender will sit about 1-2" off the bottom of the MJ tank when coming from the top. I need to cut the hole in the MJ tank to fit them and seal up the old fuel pump hole. The ring is the location where the hole will be cut. The ring will go inside the tank, then the pump sits down on the tank from the outside and a final ring mounts over the top of the pump, thus sandwiching the pump between the 2 rings and the tank for a seal.