Map or I think issue

I recently started having a problem where my comanche won't stay idling and when I try to drive I have no power and tons of backfire. Here's the kicker if I unplug the map Sensor truck runs way better(it's a new sensor) any ideas I'm pretty new to all this

1 hour ago, cruiser54 said:

When you unplug the MAP sensor, the ECU adds fuel. 

How does the vacuum line look going to the MAP?

Are your intake manifold bolts loose causing a vacuum leak? 

No leaks in the line and all my manifold bolts are tight

It might help if you posted some info about your truck (year, engine, trans)

On my 91 with 4.0, I swapped to a 99+ intake manifold.  At the same time, I switched to a 96+ throttle body, which has the MAP sensor mounted directly on the throttle body.  There is a small rubber elbow that provides vacuum, so the vacuum line itself is eliminated.  I feel like it cleans up the engine compartment and eliminates a potential vacuum leak.

When I first did it, the truck developed some strange quirks, one of which was erratic shifting.  I don't recall now my diagnosis steps, but I eventually replaced the MAP and all was well.  I think I had one from the wrong year.  Even though the electrical connector plugged in, it didn't work right.

Perhaps you have the wrong sensor?  Even if it was new in the box, it could be bad, or it could have had the wrong part put in the box.

8 minutes ago, schardein said:

It might help if you posted some info about your truck (year, engine, trans)

On my 91 with 4.0, I swapped to a 99+ intake manifold.  At the same time, I switched to a 96+ throttle body, which has the MAP sensor mounted directly on the throttle body.  There is a small rubber elbow that provides vacuum, so the vacuum line itself is eliminated.  I feel like it cleans up the engine compartment and eliminates a potential vacuum leak.