Brake Booster Something Malfunction

Greetings,.

I have a mostly '87 Comanche with a 150 c.i. engine (I-4).

The idle had been a bit high recently; I did not find any broken vaccum lines; et cetera; I looked for problems.

I am a Mechanic with training, credentials, and experience, and looked for simple soulutions; besides that I have worked with the XJ type much and this MJ for about ten years with various time allocated.

That said, as a Mechanic, I am up to learning more about some specifics.

I do not know every thing.

The Idle had been high, and today the brake pedal stuck.

The brake booster seemed to be working when not-requested.

I pressed on the brake pedal (today) and the pedal moved to the floor/firewall on its own.

I disconnected the vaccume line to the brake booster assembly.

And I plugged/sealed that line with what I had available.

It was a surprise to me when the brakes locked up today.

So I may have to replace the brake booster assy.

Before I order parts I posted this message asking:

Is there some other part that could be (Likely) causing this propblem.

Maybe a something that the brake-booster assy. interacts with like a sensor?.

It seems to me like the brake booster I have may have an internal diaphragm failure, or something.

It also seems like that is a sealed unit that I do not work on  standardly.

I am not attempng to change out parts without a reason to.

My next step with the Comanche brake situation is to chcek this forum this weekend.

And I will likely replace the brake booster assy.

I thought to ask for some helpful perpective.

Thanks very much.

Greetings, 

Thanks for the reply.

I did a quick search for a "double booster" upgrade and am not sure what the parts change would be.

'Any more information available on that?

Thanks very much.

What you are looking for is a "dual diaphragm vacuum brake booster".  1996 Jeep Cherokee (XJ) is another source for a dual diaphragm booster that can be adapted to the older XJs/MJs.