So i put an LPG system on the AMC I6 4.0 RENIX...

A very simple question for those who had made this conversion themselves

i got a complete "x-branded" complete LPG system from a wrecked 89 cherokee which had the venerable I6 4.0 AFAIK this truck was running entirely on LPG since it was converted, i cleaned up and i can say i`m ready to do the job once i get free time note: i have never done this before so...

once i have bolted everything on and got every hose in place... do i just drain/burn the leftover gas and let the LPG in? or should i disconnect the fuel pump, inyectors? anything? what your guys think:

1- let the gas dry out, switch to LPG and never look back

2- there`s one or two more steps to take in account in order to NOT fry your Comanche...

I need more details to tell you anything useful.  Pictures of what you have and info on how it was installed on the Cherokee.

hard to check that out, the cherokee wasn`t mine, must be torn to pieces right now, but i got the lpg system for free so i can`t complaint, i have:

1- a vaporizer unit, with both in/out water hoses, a low pressure hose and a solenoid actuated high pressure valve

2- a mixer that goes between the throttle body and the air filter.. never seen those

the only thing missing is the tank, someone else beat me to it, and i know for certain it works because it was running, but the transmission didn`t work and the frame too bent to be usable

i`m at home now, the equipment is in a friend`s house who`s giving me a hand with the conversion, i`ll take some pics tomorrow...

That was an actual dual fuel setup.  I'm not a fan of them.  But if you just want to run it as a propane only setup I would pull all of the Renix EFI stuff, just leave the injectors and rail to plug the holes in the intake manifold, and drop a GM HEI distributor in it.  That would be basically the best setup in regards to power and reliability.

Why do you want to run propane?