Minimum Requirements For A Transmission Uninstall / Install?

Hello,

I posted earlier about a clutch that wouldn't disengage. 1990 2.5L 4 cylinder RWD. With a little help from this forum I got it working again (filled and bled clutch hydraulic fluid) and have determined (mostly) that the issue is a failing slave cylinder. There's a slow leak from the slave which is related somehow.

I'd like to install a new clutch kit (including slave) and master cylinder, but the slave install requires me to remove the transmission. I'm not a mechanic, don't have a lift and only have a regular jack, not a transmission jack. I own basic tools including a standard / metric socket set, but no real specific car / truck tools.

Is a regular jack with a board or something and a standard set of home tools sufficient to remove the transmission, install the kit and re-install the transmission? I read about passing some chains through the shifter housing to suspend the transmission from the truck. Apparently this in tandem with a rigged jack can do the trick. I don't have a lift, either, and am not sure there's enough clearance to even do what I need to do.

Anyone done this before? I'd prefer to do it myself both for cost savings and to learn a bit, but not if it's near impossible or I'll risk seriously damaging something.

Thanks in advance!

I just did this two days ago, so the pain is still fresh in my mind and body.

I worked on it alone, but had a tranny jack. Being 4wd I think a tranny jack is almost a must, but with your 2wd, I think you could get by with a regular floor jack. Don't think a bottle jack would be wise.

You will want to remove the shift lever from inside the cab first.

I found it easier to loosen the exhaust, but mine was a 4.0L, and yours is different, so can't say for sure.

Remove the rear drive shaft, and drain the fluid first or get a bath.