4.2 in a Comanche

I realize this may sound like a dumb question but I am relatively new to the MJ/XJ thing so here goes. I have been looking around for a new engine for my MJ project and I got to thinking(this is usually bad) that I should be able to swap a 4.2 in there in place of the 2.5, right? I mean if a 4.0l swap would be easy why not a 4.2?

Anyone here done anything like this or have any input on this idea. Figure with the 4.2 and a 4.0l head with either Mopar MPI or the TBI kit that is made by Howell.

TIA,

Matt

4.0L and the 4.2l are very similar. 4.2L is carbed the 4.0L is mpfi or efi.

what are you looking for out of the engine? you mentioned you wanted fuel injection, then get the 4.0L.

of cource if your just looking for power, you could always stroke the 4.0L to a 4.6 or 4.8

gl, and feel free to post any questions.

I mean if a 4.0l swap would be easy why not a 4.2?

Where'd you hear that a 4.0L swap is easy? You would likely need an entire front clip from an 4.0L XJ or MJ as I beleive their designed differently, allowing for a longer engine. Don't be surprised if you won't have enough clearance at the firewall as well. Motor mount perches will need to be cut off the psuedoframe and new ones welded on. Still sound easy?

The 4.0L and 4.2L are basically the same externally, so it's a toss-up. Just be sure to use the 4.0L head as it flows much better.

OK, easier than a cheby swap. Didn't realize that a 4.0l or 4.2l swap would be that involved. I had a feeling the motor mounts would have to be moved, but a new front clip. Holy crap, didn't think they were that much different. I guess the only way that would make a diff is if I wasn't putting a 97+ front end on it.