Propane wall heaters

sinkrun

can't say much about the wall mount units, as I've never used them before. But I do have tube style heater. I can't remember the size, but its meant for the standard BBQ size bottles (20lbs). Its about a foot in diameter, and about 2-3feet long. It has a plug in fan that must be on before you turn on the propane.

The unit works good. Heats up the shop pretty good, so that I can get away with just wearing a sweater and being comfortable. For my garage, (20'x20') I think I have it on for about 15mins at a time. otherwise it gets too hot in there. For my shop (24'x30'x11' ceiling) I'll have it on for about 30mins before turning it off. Each place I have it off for about 30mins before turning it back on.

The only real downside I have with it, is that it is real loud!!! It gets a little annoying after a while. Especially if your just wrenching and not using any power tools. You'll get used to it after a while.

One thing to be careful of though, is I was working under my jeep one winter in the garage, and had it aimed under the jeep about 5' away. Well after about 20-30mins of it on, the garage was nice, but I couldn't touch anything metal on the jeep as it heated the frame up so much that I could barely touch them with my bare hands. So watch where you point it, as it does it metal up fast.

I would the nice thing about the portable units compared to wall mounts, is that they are portable. So you can move it around the shop to where you need it the most, or where you can muffle the noise the most.

Either way you can't go wrong with having some heat in the garage during the winter months.

HTH

Ryan

I use a torpedo heater, except I have a multi fuel, so I run it on some of the cheapest stuff I have. Diesel. It heats up the garage quick, and it hardly uses any fuel. The GF says it makes me stink, but I like diesel exhaust, so I don't even notice it.

Rob