4x4 swap?

i don't know much at all about converting to 4x4 other than that i want to do it. ive got the 2.5 with a 4spd....now I'm wondering (because ive heard of the 2.5 with a 4spd and 4x4) is there a Tcase that just bolts up to the AX-4, making it an easy conversion for me?

what all do i need? I'm a noob here but I'm sold on keeping my freebie and converting :help:

okay thanks

thats what i thought, but upon research, the only 4 speed i could find was the AX-4. i thought there would be two different names if it was 4x2 and 4x4

sooo.....

hypothetically, if i had a 4x4 tranny, Tcase, and front axle, what else would i need? i already wasted space with my thread....why bother with a search

the 2 and 4 wheel drive trannies are the same other then the tail section so they are both ax4s,the ax5 is also the same except it has a 5th gear.

Also keep in mind that you most likely have 3.55 gears so if you want bigger tires or a 5spd your gonna want to change gear ratios. The easy way is to find a 2.5l w/5spd and take both axles as they would have 4.10 gears,if you want real big tires you will most likely have to spend some money and regear the axles(I'm going 4.88 with mine),once you have the trans,tcase,and axle only other big thing is drive lines.

yes yes

now my brain is working again....i can feel the burn