When swapping in a Dana 44....

I am considering doing a swap to the dana 44 on my 89 mj. If I were to do that is there other things that need to be done? Can the truck still be a dd. Like I have said before I am not a mechanic, but I can retain knowledge so any info is appreciated.

I am considering doing a swap to the dana 44 on my 89 mj. If I were to do that is there other things that need to be done? Can the truck still be a dd. Like I have said before I am not a mechanic, but I can retain knowledge so any info is appreciated.

:???: A dana 44 can be used as a dd.

If you get one out of a MJ complete, it should just bolt right up.

Why wouldn't you be able to DD it? Compared to most truck axles nowadays, that people use for DD's, the D44 is tiny.

A good number of XJs and MJs came with 44s from the factory.

All you need to do is get perches in the correct locations on the 44, and find yourself a slightly shorter driveshaft.

It's possible his current drive shaft would still work. I have seen some factory set ups (MJ and XJ) with the yoke fully 1.5" out of the transfer case. Never looked at a 2wd, though.

A quick look at the slip yoke will tell if the current shaft will work or not.

It's possible his current drive shaft would still work. I have seen some factory set ups (MJ and XJ) with the yoke fully 1.5" out of the transfer case. Never looked at a 2wd, though.

I'm looking to swap in my 8.25 soon (also has 1" longer snout like the D44), I would like to re-use my original 2wd D35 DS in the meantime, before I install the t-case and AX-15. I want to avoid cutting down the shaft 1" as it will be a temporary setup.

By 1.5" out, do you mean as measured from the base of the ears to the trans seal?

Do you know the travel distance in of the yoke at full suspension compression?

I do plan to swap in 4wd leafs (with longer 4wd bump stops) in place of the original 2wd, I figure that would help a little no?