Comanche X

Ok I found a 2wd long bed in a barn owners got it with the property the fender badge is (Comanche with a X under it ) I am kinda new to the Comanches but have never heard of this trim line before and thought it may be something rare. He uses it for a farm truck but said if it some one really wants it he may sell it.

The X trim package was only used for the 1986 year.

It was mid grade trim package -

Custom (low end trim)

X

Sport or XL

XLS (max end trim)

It should have chrome grill and chrome bumpers, at least my X has that :D

Also, you'll only find LWB MJ's in the '86 year.

The real problem will be the engine, if it a 2.5 (4 cylinder) your good, if it the 2.8 (6 cylinder) you got problems from the get go :(

I have a breakdown of packages in my old website, under "comanche spotter"

comanchemj.1hwy.com

Rob L.

Rob, Very nice writeup. I own my '87 that I bought new and I remember that period very well. Technology has come along way since 1987 so comparing comanche to trucks made today may be unfair. But many of us may not realize that when comanche came out, the competition (if you could call them that) was Chevy S10 and Ford Ranger. There was no comparison. Furthermore, when that 4.0 came out, that was a big deal. I just bought a new rubicon but my comanche is not for sale at any price.

don't forgot, to compare these to the new stuff, comanches are made of iron.

Regarding the rust problem, in the '80's the imports were much worse. Diving those in the weather was like taking a kleenex box through a car wash. You may not make it home.

And not to bragg tooooo much, but why did they get rid of the chief package anyway? Everyone knows that package was the best. :brows:

I have a breakdown of packages in my old website, under "comanche spotter"

comanchemj.1hwy.com

Rob L.

Rob, Very nice writeup.