The Big Dreams Short Bed

Hey everyone!

This is my first project vehicle, I'm excited that it is a comanche! In the first few stages I'm trying to keep everything as cheap as possible. I only bought the truck for $800 and after digging in, I'm seeing why. haha! I'm not intimidated with how bad it is because I'm using the truck to learn a ton of skills such as body work, welding, running brake lines, general rebuild/replace/restore.

I've very lofty end goals, I'm inspired by the locally-built Hoonitruck and I want to see how close I can get. I'm starting with my first bought abroad, parked on the Muskegon beach, sat for two years, rust bucket short bed base model 88.

List of things wrong from the start: (I'll update as I diagnose more but won't add newly broken things to this list)
Oh god the rust... so much rust.

Both rear wheels locked up - when I removed the plug to adjust the drum tensioner, I had to dig 1 Cup of rust out first

Engine doesn't run

Leaky brakes

Driver side frame is mostly rust

Driver side front leaf spring hanger is 75% gone 25% rust

Bumper is rusted off on the left side

Missing the tailgate

Right fender is bent in.

20220506_012556.jpg.786772007d29f640d7f57187037e4eef.jpg

Wishing you luck on your Hooniche build. Small goals lead to big dreams. Take it one step at a time as you learn. Making a to-do list marked with "priority 1", "priority 2" and "someday" will help you. Example-

P1   Get Rolling                  PB Blaster, 3lb hammer, wire wheel for drill

P1   Stop surface rust       220 sandpaper, self etching primer

SD   make roll cage           metal tubing

P2   remove bumper         cut-off disks, 3 boxes of Band-aids