Gearing and axle questions

My truck is a 88 4.0 4x4 standard transmission, so assuming (I'll check before doing anything) it's still original I have the D35 with 3.07 gearing front and back. I have a parts truck that is automatic trans 4.0 4x4, and again assuming it's still stock the gearing in it is 3.55, right? Do I want to switch these out? I know I'd have to do front and rear. Would I have to swith any other parts out or just the "gear boxes". I'm pretty new to all this gear stuff obviously.

What are the advantages/disadvantages either way, especially regarding mileage?

Truck is primarily used for hauling firewood, mowers, mulch, helping friends move, etc. but will be counted on for delivering pizzas in the snow (albeit we don't get a lot around here, maybe 3 good snows a year). I want it to go anywhere I want to go in the snow. It will never be used for rock crawling/climbing, may see the occasional muddy back road with hills.

I'm running 235-75-15's.

If I'm looking to have to down shift less going up hills and get better mileage am I asking for the impossible?

I wouldn't even think about swapping the gears, but rather would swap the complete axles themselves. gears aren't as easy as bolting them in. they must be set up properly and, long story short, it's just not for the novice.

3.55s should give you more perceived power (and a bigger smile) and a bit better fuel economy (since the engine won't have to work as hard to get the truck going from a stop). :thumbsup:

I'd do it in a heartbeat. :yes: