Air switch for CAD

I had an idea to operate my d30 CAD. Wanted to keep the disconnect part so I could say I have 4low. Not that I will ever use it though... :nuts: I like the cable operated idea but wanted to try something new. :wrench: I fix dental equipment for a living and a lot of the systems I deal with are pneumatically controlled.

I decided to use a 3 way (venting) air switch to apply vacuum to the CAD diaphragm

Air (or in this case vacuum) is routed to the rear port and is sent to the side port when the switch is moved to on. The source vacuum at the rear port is then blocked and the applied vacuum at the side port is relieved when the switch is moved to off. The relieving feature is what makes this a "3 way" switch and is needed to allow the diaphragm to return to the "disconnected" position when switched off.

I followed the cable operated writeup and used a cut down spring I had lying around to return the fork to the disconnected position.

Here is a link to a vid of it in action.

I will install tomorrow and see how it works.

So it works pretty good! Its a little slow to return with just the spring providing pressure. I was afraid of that. If I am not careful it will get stuck slightly engaged and I can hear the splines grind a little :ack: I am going to try and find a exhausting selector switch that will send a vacuum signal to one of two ports and exhaust the other so the diaphragm will be powering both in and out.

So I found a switch that will work but the hose barbs are for 1/16 ID hose :fs1: and I think that is way to small to function properly.

I think I will try the stiffer spring idea. I tried different lengths of the spring I had and settled on an inch section because any longer and it wouldn't let the fork travel far enough for my liking.

I'm going to hit the trails this evening with some friends so we'll see how it performs as is.