chugging along after turned off (and a couple other issues)

Any ideas?

86' Manche with 66k. 2.8L

Obviously each one is probably impossible to diagnose over a forum, but together maybe you can see a pattern i am not experienced with.

1. Car has been idling roughly lately... like for last 1000mi (yeah i know tsk tsk). When driving its great, just not when idling. [most tune-up type items have been replaced in last 5k miles]

2. last few hundred miles my oil pressure gauge has been wacky. ill be driving along, minding my own business, and look down and see the guage pegged to the right... after i slow down, or sometimes on its own, it will just swiftly shoot back to the normal center...

3. Last couple days, (and getting worse)... whenever i shut it off after driving it for a while, it tries to run for a second or two, tonight it ran for a good 3 seconds after turning key off. [ best i could find from google is "dieseling"

ideas? thoughts?

Thanks!

• 2 months later...

Ok, finally installed the carb that Tbrand graciously donated. It took me forever to find the time, and then even more time to get a gasket in. (which turned out to be wrong anyways) and a lot of elbow grease today.

Pros:

New carb seems to help the car run smoother. Not sure how to quantify, just smoother.\

Shifts better... How this has anything to do with the carb is beyond me

Cons:

Needs to be tuned, pulls wayyy too hard.

STILL Chugs along after being turned off. So, it may not be the carburetor after all

any more ideas?

A hot spot in one of the cylinders. A piece of carbon is glowing red hot and acting like a glow plug in a diesel engine. Try one of the carbon removers on the market, or remove the head and clean off all carbon from the head chamber and top of piston. Also at the same time you turn the key off tromp on the gas pedal. The sudden intake of air will kill it.