Opinions & advise on a lift kit idea

In a nut shell I'm a fabricator/mechanic/body guy :wrench: . I've never lifted a suspension, but I've lowered them(Yes, I'm a mini trucker as well as a MJ lover comanche.gif . Odd combo huh?) But I've been looking into lift kits and ive noticed that the front end is basically a four-link set up with coil springs, add taller stronger springs and extend the four-link bars(steering linkage, break lines,etc) and you have lift. For the rear its add taller stronger leafsprings and you get lift. here's my thought, why not four-link the rear end,fabricate coil spring pearches, and add some tall strong springs? It wouldn't be any different than the front, would it?. It's the same basic idea used to make mini's go up and down, remove springs and add airbags or hydrolics. So everyone, feel free to leave you advise, comments, dirty name calling, whatever you want. Like I said, never lifted but I don't see why it wouldn't work. before anyone says it, geometry and fabrication are not going to be a problem for me. Lets see what we can get going shall we? jamminz.gif :cheers:

It's been done but it's not as common as a regular lifted manche because you would need a rear trackbar, right? And I'm not too sure anybody would drive it on the street without a swaybar in the rear either... If you need to figure out the angles you can use Microsoft excel, they already have some platforms to start from on google if you look hard enough. Also alot of people have a don't fix what's not broken mindset :nuts:

if you put the say bar in that would just limit your travel wouldnt it? I thought it was common just to take that off if your using it for a wheeler......

Some people do remove them,most people get quick disconnect links. That way you have the sway bar on the road but you can disable it off road