New Member. Green to Comanches

Hey people, I'm Mark. From Vancouver, BC.

I just bought an 88 Jeep Comanche. I chose it because I believe it is one of the best and unique trucks in the market.

Mine is a beater 4.0L 5-spd 2WD shortbox. Its clocking 203K and despite some front end cosmetic damage, runs great.

I wanted a 4.0, I wanted a 5-spd, and I wanted a comanche. Its perfect.

Please bear with me, as I know NOTHING of jeeps and parts and all that, but I can tell you that I am an accomplished mechanic, and moderator of a similar but different forum called redpepperracing. Its dedicated to 84-87 Honda Civics, and while the polar opposite of a jeep, in a similar category being a honda unlike all the more common-place fast and furious rice burners. Its the oddball, like the comanche.

I build tasteful vehicles, or take beaters to their full potential. I'm looking forward to learning a completely new animal!

Okay, enough about that, here's a teaser of my new machine:

SAM_0156.JPG

Plans? Bring it back to life with a mechanical overhaul of the running gear, a new front clip, and eventually, a 4WD conversion.

Here's a picture of one of my other cars, an 87 CRX Si:

SAM_0030.JPG

Okay, its not a Jeep, but anyone who knows cars knows these things are getting hard to come by. I've had it for a year and after a full drivetrain repair and engine swap it serves as my daily driver.

Cheers,

Mark

Welcome aboard :wavey: Good group here to help thru the mysteries of Comanches , as you will find out for yourself . Locally :Canadaflag: you'll find Gary's auto wrecking ( maple Ridge ) and Gemini Jeeps ( Burnaby,Langley ) great places to source parts :thumbsup:

were you the one who bought the $500 comanche on cl?

Yep, that was me.

Thanks for the welcomes.

I'll be posting some full pictures of the truck soon, but i've been too busy going over all the things it needs.