Gas Gauge Pegged >

Hey everyone! Ive been lurking around here for a little over a week now. Last week, I bought a 88 MJ Pioneer 2wd, 4.0/BA10 for $600. Its a little ugly, but it runs pretty well. I'm a little new to this Renix thing, although the rest of the Jeep I know well. Ive got big plans for this thing, and have a few other Jeeps to pull parts from for this build, but Ive got to get a few simple things fixed first.

When I got my MJ, most of the interior was already pulled apart, and the gauges were in bad shape. The gauge package it had was coolant, oil, volts, speedo, and a big gas gauge, but the gas gauge had no needle. I went to the junkyard and found a few older MJs and didnt really pay attention and pulled a cluster of a V6. Needless to say that didnt work, so today I went back and exchanged it for an XJ cluster. I already had most of the gauges, so I didnt need to swap senders or anything. The XJ cluster is from another 88 4.0, but none of my idiot lights work now(the XJ was auto). Not a big deal since the shift light irritated me and I know the emissions need matinenence. But thats not my real problem, Ill mess with them later.

The gas gauge will go all the way to the right, well past F, so its pointing straight right. It did the same thing on the 2.8 cluster too. I am guessing it is an issue with the sender, but I'm not sure yet since I havent checked that. I currently know of 3 comanches in the junkyards right now, but theyre 2 4 cyls and a V6. And I don't know how much gas I have left...:D I'm guessing it might be grounded out since it immediately pegs to the farthest extreme, well past the markings. But I am hoping for some ideas before I crawl up under it to check. I'm not sure if this is true, but from what I can tell the senders for the 4.0 arent available anymore, is that right? Thanks for the help!