Oil issues

Background:

Truck is an 89 4.0 AW4 with 126,000 miles

I recently changed the oil in my truck to Rotella T 15w-40 and a NAPA 1626 Gold filter. I changed the oil because my engine seemed a little noisy compared to my friends 4.0. I suspect lifters or rocker arms or something around that area. I am far from an expert but it definitely seems to be coming from the top end. With the oil changed the truck seems a bit quieter but not where I'd like it to be.

The Problems:

Upon cold start up it now sounds like it is not getting oil for a second or two. Sounds like a loud CHUH CHUH. What do you guys think? The temperature around here never gets below freezing so I thought 15w40 would be fine?

The oil pressure gauge also reads pretty high. Like 70 or so at a cold idle and then down to 40 at a warm idle. The guage will go up to 80 when I first start driving after a cold start. I don't have a mechanical gauge to check the accuracy.

No I don't know which oil was in there before. This is the first oil change I have given it since I bought it.

What are the chances that the oil filter is faulty? :hmm: Should I go out and try a different one?

Does your oil meet or exceed the AECA A1/A5 or A3 specification? Had a big discussion about that a few months back. Top half of the 4.0 is like an airplane motor, have to keep it lubed.

I would personally stick with the 10w-30 oils. The NAPA filter is probably fine.

From the back of the jug: Meets API service CJ-4, CI-4 Plus, CH-4, CG-4, CF-4, CF/SM

Meets the performance requirements of ACEA E9, Mack EO-O Premium Plus, Caterpillar ECF-3, ECF-2, ECF-1A, Cummins CES 20081, DDC 93K218, MB Approval 228.31, MAN 3275, MTI cat 2, Volvo VDS-4, Deutz Dqc III-05, JASO MA