Tool distributors (Mac, SnapOn, Matco, Cornwell)

dfreeman616

Anyone on here a distributor for them? I've been giving the idea some consideration, and I'm looking for some insider opinions that don't come from the guys trying to sign me up for one. I'd like to know good things, bad things, time commitment involved (realistically), and if you don't mind some idea of the profits and what kind of time it took to start seeing a reasonable income. If you don't want to post it on here, feel free to just shoot me a PM about it.

Thanks for any help.

i've been a technician for a while now. i looked hard into becoming a distributor. i chose not to for a couple reasons. first off, they looked at me like a dollar sign, not as someone they wanted to help become successful. they wouldn't even talk to me till they ran my credit. i understand they don't wanna waste time on losers, but it was a negative expereince all around. i talked with my trusted tool guys i've known for years, they see their distributors as their customers. you are a dollar sign to them, not an associate.

snap on has the only program where they will help you start, you make less profit, but you'll have less risk and money out of pocket, and they will buy back the tools after a certain time if you want out. but, i've talked to some guys where that didn't actually pan out as good as it sounded.

i spoke with cornwell, snap on, mac and matco, so i got the same feelings from them all. it does take a lot of money up front, you own everything right away. you need at least 50 grand to start, and thats not much, and thats not paying for everything, thats just a down payment as you will be financing much much more.