Tire chains or cables?

Jerry

Hi guys, hoping for some sub zero driving advice please.

We're heading North to play in the snow over Christmas and I need to get some chains or cables (the law). I've been told cables are much cheaper and I probably wouldn't need chains anyway. I have no experience using either. I have driven in snow once or twice though and loved it! :thumbsup:

What are the pro and cons of each?

I don't have any experience with cables, but chains yes.

Pros: they work in snow if you have a solid base to "dig" down to (i.e. blacktop, concrete). If the base under the snowpack is loose, they keep digging, and digging, and digging......especially with an open diff. You can get a decent set for less then $50, and purchase replacement cross-chains as needed.

I used chains on my MJ when we first moved down here to VA and it was still 2WD, and drove circles around just about everyone in the couple big snowstorms we had several years ago (but that's not saying too much because NOONE here who is a native can drive in even a dusting :D )

Chains or cables, it doesn't matter, neither work in ice and shouldn't be used.

Cons: Installation is a pain, but no different than cables. Especially if you've already got a ton of slush/snow/road crap already accumulated on your rig before you put them on. It can be a messy affair. Not recommended for running on dry pavement, work best if you are in a continual snowpack environment. If road conditions change as you drive and you hit clear patches, you need to keep speed down, and the cross chains will wear faster.

Hopefully someone who's used cables will chime in and add to this. I would guess that chains would work better than cables, especially in deeper snow, but I couldn't say for sure as I've never used them.

Jeff