New '88 SWB

Hey guys. As you can see, I'm new to this site and new to MJ's, but I'm not new to Jeeps. I have a couple XJ's but when I saw this little truck, I knew it had some hidden greatness in it. Here's the short on it...'88 SWB 2WD 4.0 BA-10 w/D35. I don't know the gearing though. Current plans, swap out the motor and insert an AX-15 and possibly an 8.8 w/3.73's. I want to DD this and make my current DD more of a trail rig. Redoing the interior and new paint on it should brighten it's day. If you have any suggestions or thoughts, please throw them out there. I am open to suggestions. Like I said, I'm new to the MJ world. :D

Here are a couple pics of it as it sits.

Here are the rest if you want to see. I have a slight floor issue and the driver side fender needs replacing but other than that, the body is fairly straight.

[/url]

I've already got a new fender for the front but I'm at a loss for the floor...

For the floor, most of the build threads here have something to show, look around, it's good reading. That's what I've been doing for two weeks straight. :yes:

However for a DD, wouldn't it be better to have longer gearing for fuel economy ? I think you'd be able to find an 8.8 diff with a 3.42 or even 3.13 final gear. Won't get you 35 mpg but they must come initially cheaper and the motor has more than enough torque to keep it peppy. Of course if you're considering hauling trailers or stuff, forget what I said !

I second CaffeineSam on the floor repair - a lot of members have had to replace the floors. There was a post a few weeks back on a few companies that sold replacement floor panels too - I am on lunch right now, so I do not have the time to find it for you right now. The MJ looks like an intimidating project with the front off and the hood open like that, but it looks like a good truck :thumbsup: . Welcome to the club and be sure to post a ton of progress pictures. :cheers: - Rich