Severe frame rot..

Hi,

I am new to the Jeep world, and have several XJ's and going on my third 91 MJ this past week. The Jeep has "Severe" frame rot in fact it is not only rotted but it is basically gone from the front control arm to the front shackle for the leaf springs in the rear. Right side is basically gone, left side has some sections in the middle left, rear sections are good between the shackles and the front section suspension area is good. It basically looks like I will have to build a frame in the center of the Jeep out of box tubing and tie it into the shackle areas.

My question has anyone run into this severity of frame rot? The top of the box is jammed against the cab, floor pan is flexing with the frame, and yes doors are hard to shut. I notice one other person on this site had done some repair, but it wasn't near the damage that my frame has.

I wouldn't necessarily fix the Jeep but I am a glutten for punishment, and what else do i have to do but work on the other 12 or so Jeeps I have (models from 42 to 2005), lol. And I knew this Jeep from new, it has lol, only 54,000 miles on it and runs like a top, 4 wheel drive works excellent yet, every brake line leaks, new gas tank, new tires, inside of box is nice, shifts good (4.0 with auto). Thoughts (other than look for another Jeep and transfer the parts) on frame repair and if anyone else has tackled this problem before.

Thanks Joe from "RUST Belt of the NATION-Northern Michigan"!

Welcome aboard! :cheers: While I really admire your desire to bring another MJ back from the dead, especially an HO, it's not worth the effort. Look for a nice southern MJ with a good body and blown engine or tranny, Renix or MJ, and transfer all your pristine running gear into it. You'll still save one and work a lot less hard. It sounds like that 91 is a terminal cancer victim mate.................