86' 2.5 to 87' 4.0 swap?

Ok, I am new to jeeps and just picked up a pair of free ones. I got an 86' MJ with the 5spd and the 2.5 (blown motor) and an 87' Cherokee with the 4.0 and auto tranny. I want to take the 4.0 and put it in the MJ. How much of a pita is this going to be? I assume I'm going to have to switch most, if not all of the wiring. Also, how do I know what kind of 5spd the MJ has? I know the ax-15 will bolt to the 4.0, so I' hoping that's what I have.

I have wrenched on a lot of stuff, just never jeeps before, so I'm not afraid of doing a swap, I just want to know what I'm getting in to. Thanks a lot!

86 makes more problems than most as the 4.0 was never available in it. You have to change out everything under the hood including radiator supports and maybe even the hood prop. Firewall may or may not need to be massaged <1" with a BFH.

Never done it myself, just repeating information that has been posted before.

You will also need all under hood wiring, possibly dash wiring.

as stated, the ax5 5 speed has not ever nor will ever be capable of being bolted to a 4.0, much less handling the power.

you need every little part from the 4.0 to swap into the MJ, including gas tank and fuel sender and likely fuel lines.

So I'll need all the wiring and the gas tank/sender from the cherokee, and to source an AX-15 (cause auto tranny's are terrible) and that should be it (besides the million things that nickel and dime every project to death). I'm hoping these things are as easy to work on as subarus and toyota 4x4s haha

So I'll need all the wiring and the gas tank/sender from the cherokee, and to source an AX-15 (cause auto tranny's are terrible) and that should be it (besides the million things that nickel and dime every project to death). I'm hoping these things are as easy to work on as subarus and toyota 4x4s haha

yup. aside from obviously the engine, cooling system, and other associated necessary parts.